Add your thoughts here… (optional)

Jake's Journey with Apraxia

I’ll never forget what it felt like to listen to Jake speak his first sounds this time last year. My baby, who had spent a lifetime in silence, began to say his first consonant-vowel combinations with the help of hand prompts. It astounded me then and honestly, still does.

When I first saw that public school SLP in action, I thought, How could moving your hands possibly help you speak? Then, I thought about how much I have to move my hands in order to get my words flowing when I communicate. If it wasn’t for my hands, I might not ever get any of those words out!

When Jake uses a hand prompt, 9 out of 10 times he gets the sound right. His accuracy isn’t nearly as good if he doesn’t use the gesture. I’m not sure why it works for us — vestibular system stimulation or kinesthetic…

View original post ещё 345 слов

Добавить комментарий

